Newslaya Home

​UN Security Council elects Five members for 2-year tenure

June 10, 2018

Kathmandu . The United Nations General Assembly voted on Friday to elect Germany, Belgium, Indonesia, The Dominican Republic and South Africa for a two-year term in the UN Security Council effective from January 1, 2019. 

The council is the only body that can make legally binding decisions and has the power to impose sanctions and authorize the use of force. In a typical year, the General Assembly elects five new members which join the five members elected the previous year and the five permanent veto power members- the United States, Russia, Britain, France and China.
The five members giving up their seat at the end of 2018 are Sweden, Bolivia, Kazakhstan, Ethiopia and The Netherlands.

The five seats not up for election this year are currently held by Kuwait, Peru, Poland, Equatorial Guinea and Ivory Coast.